52 Poems: Week 6 – Sonnet

When the sun peeks over the horizon,

And eyelids flutter open at the dawn,

Nothing else will get me up and rising,

As I battle through my stretches and yawns.

Carefully measured beans I now pour,

Into the grinder they fall to be press’d.

Grounds release an aroma I adore,

Their elements create a drink so bless’d.

With my mug in hand and the liquid hot,

I tilt my cup to drink, the taste supreme!

Adding to my cup as an afterthought,

A dash of sugar and a drop of cream.

Awake now, the morning ritual done,

Coffee in hand, the day has just begun.

Leave a Reply

